The National Children's Literacy Website is a unique children's literacy initiative and is part of the Soho Center's National Children's Literacy Information Project - a not-for-profit
literacy initiative dedicated to advancing the literacy skills of young children, promoting literacy as an integral factor
in the growth of society, and enhancing literacy in a variety of
home and child care settings. We believe that reading is a fundamental skill needed by all, and we are proud of what we are doing to help children learn to read.


The Newbery & Caldecott Award-Winners

"To encourage original creative work in the field of books for children. To emphasize to the public that
contributions to the literature for children deserve similar recognition to poetry, plays, or novels
To give those librarians, who make it their life work to serve children's reading interests,
an opportunity to encourage good writing in this field."

C r i t i c s.'   C h o i c e s

The Caldecott Medal winners are those children's books selected for their exceptional artwork.
The Newbery Medal winners are those selected for the quality of their writing.

Click the buttons below to see the winners from the 1920s right up to about 2003
including direct links to Amazon to conveniently order them.


  Caldecott Award Winners

  Newbery Award Winners

(We'll be adding additional winners, and they will be available soon)



Soho Center Copyright 2011